I can’t believe I’m only three weeks away from Commencement 2005. For anyone reading who may not know, I plan Vanderbilt University‘s Commencement ceremonies and events each year for about 18,000 people. Our activities begin this year on May 11th with the ceremonies on Friday, May 13th. I only joke about being nervous that they are on Friday the 13th, but I actually had a few parents call and ask if we were going to move the ceremony because of the date!

Anyway, it’s a really stressful lead-up to Commencement week. Last year for our senior class day we had then National Security Advisor Condoleezza Rice. (Even though I’m not a republican, it was pretty cool to meet Dr. Rice). This year we’re very pleased to have the 2003 Nobel Peace Prize winner Shirin Ebadi. Read more about her here. She is an Iranian lawyer working the Iranian system to help the poor and abused people in Iran, especially women and children.

So anyway, it’s just going to keep getting busier and busier until it gets so busy and I get so stressed that I don’t think I can handle it any longer–and then all of a sudden, it’s over!

So, my friends, as we get closer to May 11-13, please keep me in your thoughts…I just want to come out on the other side with a little of my sanity intact.

