Since I’ve had my son Evan, I’ve been thinking more about the life of an only child. Yeah, we have it good during childhood. I got all the toys, I didn’t have to share, didn’t go to daycare, went to a private school.

Then as you get older you realize that there are some issues with this. For one, there’s nobody else to play with around your house. When you’re the only child of a single mom, mom is very busy. We lived with my grandparents, so my grandma was there with me most often, and she took a lot of time to play with me, but it’s not the same as playing with a kid your age.

Then when you’re in junior high and high school, an only child is under much more scrutiny. And if you’re mom is a single mom, she has little else to do but think about you. Going through the whole dating thing is hard.

College is easier, even though those years were the hardest in my personal relationship with my mom. But the good part hit again. I got to go to France with my family four times (to visit my grandmother’s relatives) and would not have been able to go if I had a sister or brother or two.

My husband is the youngest of three kids. He’s got two older sisters. He thinks that kids should have siblings to share with. To share the fun of growing up and the responsibility of getting older. He knows that I will be totally responsible for my mom. She won’t have anyone else but me to take care of her when she’s in the shape my grandparents are in now.

I love Evan with all my heart, but I’m not sure I want another child. He’s taking all the energy I’ve got right now. But I don’t want Evan to be a "lonely only".

My experience as an only child has been wonderful overall. I know that I was able to do things that I would never have been able to do if I’d had brothers or sisters. But I also know that as my mom gets older, it’s going to be more difficult for me. At least my mom has a brother to complain to, even if he’s not in the state to help. I will have my wonderful hubby, though! Poor guy. He’s known since we got married that one day his mother-in-law would have to come live with him, and he did it anyway 🙂

I’m not really sure what my little rant has really been for, but it did some thoughts out of my head and into the atmosphere…that always helps me think.

